Global Biofoundries Alliance

Formal Launch: 9AM (Kobe, Japan local time), 9th of May, 2019

The overall objective of GBA is to develop, promote, and support diverse types of non-commercial biofoundries to:

  • accelerate and enhance research in engineering/synthetic biology
  • build a robust engineering/synthetic biology industry with broad public benefits
  • promote and enable the beneficial use of automation, high-throughput equipment, and new workflows and tools in engineering/synthetic biology

Founding Members of the Global Biofoundries Alliance:

  1. DOE Agile BioFoundry (pending)
  2. Illinois Biological Foundry for Advanced Biomanufacturing (iBioFAB)
  3. Concordia Genome Foundry
  4. DAMP lab, Boston University
  5. Edinburgh Genome Foundry
  6. Earlham DNA Foundry
  7. London DNA Foundry
  8. SYNBIOCHEM, Manchester
  9. GeneMill, Liverpool
  10. Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Biosustainability
  11. BioFoundry, Tianjin
  12. Engineering Biology Research Center, Kobe
  13. Shenzhen Core Facility for Synthetic Biology
  14. Synthetic Biology Foundry, SynCTI, Singapore
  15. Australian Foundry for Advanced Biomanufacturing (AusFAB)
  16. Australian Genome Foundry

Additional Members of the Global Biofoundries Alliance:

17. CompuGene, TU Darmstadt

18. Tianjin Institute of Industrial Biotechnology

19. BIOFAB, University of Washington

Working Groups:

  • Software
  • Business model/sustainability/value proposition
  • Metrology, reproducibility, and data quality
  • Outreach: Industry, policy, security, and public
  • Grand challenge/demonstration projects

Interim Steering-Committee:

  • Chair: Paul Freemont (Metrology, Europe)
  • Co-chair Natalie Curach (Business Model, Asia-Australia)
  • Co-chair Matthew Chang (Business Model, Asia-Australia)
  • Co-chair Nathan Hillson (Software, Americas)
  • Susan Rosser (Grand Challenge, Europe)
  • Chueh Loo Poh (Software, Asia-Australia)
  • Markus Herrgard (Software, Europe)
  • Huimin Zhao (Metrology, Americas)
  • Claudia Vickers (Outreach, Asia-Australia)
  • Chenli Liu (Grand Challenge, Asia-Australia)
  • Vince Martin (Grand Challenge, Americas)